Welcome to the official website of Wapello County, Iowa. This website is designed to help current and future residents of Wapello County find all necessary information about our county. Wapello County includes the following cities and towns: Agency, Blakesburg, Chillicothe, Eddyville, Eldon, Kirkville and Ottumwa.



Jan 14

Bill of Sale required for transferring vehicle titles beginning February 2020


Effective February 1, 2020, the Wapello County Treasurer’s Office will require customers to provide a bill of sale when transferring titles to motor vehicles between private parties. A bill of sale or purchase agreement is already required for vehicles purchased from a dealership.  Below is a complete explanation and a printable Bill of

May 22

New ATV Ordinance


The Wapello County Board of Supervisors passed Ordinance 26-2019 allowing operation of ATVs/ORVs on county roads.  This ordinance goes into effect July 1, 2019.  CLICK HERE TO VIEW A COPY OF THE ORDINANCE.  The Recorder’s office will begin issuing decals on July 1, 2019.  Vehicle owners should bring the following when applying

Mar 11

Passport Applications


The Recorder’s office will resume taking new passport applications on Monday, May 13.  Acceptance hours will be Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4 p.m.

Jan 22

Boat Registration Renewal 2019


Boat registrations are now due to be renewed. Registrations are for a three-year period ending April 30, 2022. All current boat registrations will expire April 30, 2019. Stop by the Recorder’s office or call 641-683-0045 for the current registration fees. Payments may be mailed to Wapello County Recorder, 101 W. Fourth St., Ottumwa.



Wapello County Courthouse
101 W 4th St
Ottumwa, IA 52501

Email: Board of Supervisors

Department Directory

News & Information

Event Calendar

County Alerts

There are no alerts at this time.

Did you know... After an hour, the temperature inside and outside of a vehicle can differ by 45 degrees or more – even if the window is left open a crack?