## WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 6-14-2022 TIME: 9:30 a.m.

PRESENT: Jerry Parker, Chair; R Brian Morgan, Vice Chair; Wayne Huit, Supervisor; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Chad Drury, Ottumwa Courier; Rick Tebbs, Conservation; Lisa Kent, Recorder; Kim Schwartz, Agency Library; Danielle Weller, Deputy Auditor; Jennifer Robbins, Community Services Office, Jeff Skalberg, Secondary Roads.

Chair Parker opened the meeting. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve the minutes of June 7, 2022 Board Meeting. Motion carried.

CANVASS OF JUNE 7, 2022 PRIMARY ELECTION as follows: The following is a true and correct abstract of the votes cast in this County as shown by the tally lists returned from the several election precincts:

County Board of Supervisors – Democratic

Connie Hammersley-Wilson received Eight Hundred and Fifteen (815) votes Wayne Huit received Seven Hundred and Fifty (750) votes

Jerry L Parker received Nine Hundred and Seventy four (974) votes

Scattering received Nine (9) votes

We therefore declare Connie Hammersley-Wilson and Jerry L Parker duly nominated for the office of County Supervisor – Democratic Party.

County Board of Supervisors – Republican

Darren Batterson received One Thousand and Forty nine (1,049) votes

John Rosenbalm received Eight Hundred and Thirty-four (834) votes

Bryan Ziegler received One Thousand One Hundred and Twenty-two (1,122) votes

Scattering received Twenty-four (24) votes

We therefore declare Darren Batterson and Bryan Ziegler to be duly nominated for the office of County Supervisor – Republican Party.

County Treasurer – Democratic Party

Laurie L Fountain received One Thousand Three Hundred and Fifty-seven (1,357) votes

Scattering received Thirteen (13) votes

We therefore declare Laurie L Fountain duly nominated for the office of Treasurer – Democratic

Party.

County Treasurer – Republican

Scattering received Fifty-three (53) votes

County Recorder – Democratic

Lisa Kent received One Thousand Three Hundred and Seventy-six (1,376) votes

Scattering received Six (6) votes

We therefore declare Lisa Kent duly nominated for the office of Recorder – Democratic Party.

County Recorder – Republican

Scattering received Forty-nine (49) votes

County Attorney – Democratic Party

Scattering received Fifty-nine (59) votes

County Attorney – Republican Party

Reuben Neff received One Thousand Six Hundred and Thirteen (1,613) votes

Scattering received Seven (7) votes

We therefore declare Reuben Neff duly nominated for the office of County Attorney – Republican Party. Supervisor Huit moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to accept the Canvass as read. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Resolution 29-2022 Disbursements Outstanding. Motion carried.

Supervisor Huit moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to approve Resolution 30-2022 Authorize the Auditor to pay Salaried Personnel. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Resolution 31-2022 authorization for Payment of Group Insurance Premiums for FY22/23. Motion carried.

Supervisor Huit moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to approve liquor license for Smokin /Bones for 7/1/2022 - 6/30/2023. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve contribution to Agency Library for drop box in the amount of \$2,500 to be paid out of sales tax, any overages will be paid by the Agency Library. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve South Central Behavioral Health Region 28E Agreement. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve MOU between Wapello County and South Central Behavioral Health. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Tax Suspension under Iowa Code Section 427.8. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve job description for Zoning Manager. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve request for Payroll Approval – New Hire for Amanda Jones, Office Manager, Conservation effective 6/20/2022 at \$15.75 per hour. Motion carried.

Supervisor Huit moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to approve request for Payroll Approval – New Hire for Susan Boyd, Clerk II, Motor Vehicle effective 6/27/2022 at \$16.55 per hour. Motion carried.

Supervisor Huit moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to approve request for Payroll Approval – New Hire for Kevin Creamer, Zoning Manager Assistant, Secondary Roads effective 6/20/2022 at \$21.15 per hour. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve request for Payroll Approval New Hire for Alisha Allen, Clerk III, Secondary Roads effective 6/22/2022 at \$16.55 per hour. Motion carried.
Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to accept & file Treasurer's Investment Report – May 2022. Motion carried.
Claims in the amount of \$905,261.67 and payroll in the amount of \$259,864.58 were approved.
9:48 a.m. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to adjourn. Motion carried.
ATTEST:

Jerry L Parker-Chair Board of Supervisors

Kelly Spurgeon Wapello County Auditor