WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 11-19-2019

TIME: 11:00 a.m.

PRESENT: Jerry Parker, Chair; Brian Morgan, Vice Chair; Wayne Huit, Supervisor; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Chiara Elena Romero, Ottumwa Courier; Danielle Weller, Deputy Auditor; Jeff Skalberg, Engineer; Lisa Kent, Recorder; Jennifer Robbins, Director MH; Shae Greiner, Chamber.

Chair Parker opened the meeting. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve minutes of November 12, 2019 Board Meeting. Motion carried.

ABSTRACT OF VOTES

We, the undersigned members of the Board of Supervisors and ex-officio Board of County Canvassers for Wapello County, hereby certify the following to be a true and correct abstract of the votes cast in this county at the 2019 City/School Election held on the 5th day of November, 2019, as shown by the tally list returned from the election precincts.

For the office of Eddyville Mayor:

Doug Greenlee (WI)received thirty-nine (39) votesRyan Jackson (WI)received four (4) votesEd Glenn (WI)received seven (7) votesScatteringreceived twenty-six (26) votesWe therefore declare Doug Greenlee duly elected to the office of Mayor for the term of 2 years.

For the office of Eddyville City Council:		
Dwight Lobberecht (WI)	received eight (8) votes	
William Liles (WI)	received nineteen (19) votes	
Nancy Lightle (WI)	received twenty-one (21) votes	
Jesse Riley (WI)	received seven (7) votes	
Laura Johnston (WI)	received ten (10) votes	
Nichole Greer (WI)	received nine (9) votes	
Wade Francis (WI)	received eight (8) votes	
Scattering	received forty-one (41) votes	
We therefore declare William Liles & Nancy Lightle duly elected to the office of City Council for		
the term of 4 years.		

For the office of Cardinal School Board:

Trevor Brown	received two hundred thirty-two (232) votes
Tom Drish	received two hundred ninety-three (293) votes
Mike Kayser	received three hundred thirty-three (333) votes
Brian Keasling	received two hundred thirty-eight (238) votes
Crystal Leverne	received eighty-eight (88) votes
Carol Lynn Streeby	received two hundred ninety-seven (297) votes
Scattering	received two (2) votes

We therefor declare Mike Kayser, Carol Lynn Streeby & Tom Drish duly elected to the office of Director at Large for the term of 4 years.

For the office of EE	BF DD3:
Ryan Jackson	received fifty (50) votes
Rena Shepherd	received seventy-two (72) votes
Scattering	received three (3) votes
We therefore decla	are Rena Shepherd duly elected to the office of EBF DD3 for the term of 4
years.	

For the office of EBF DD	04:
Debra Bahr	received thirty-six (36) votes
Mark Haselhuhn	received sixty-three (63) votes
Scattering	received zero (0) votes
We therefor declare Ma	ark Haselhuhn duly elected to the office of EBF DD4 for the term of 4
years.	

For the office of EBF DD5:Doug Brinegarreceived fifty (50) votesScatteringreceived one (1) voteWe therefore declare Doug Brinegar duly elected to the office of EBF DD5 for the term of 4
years.

For the office of EBF DD6 (To fill a Vacancy):Levi Roachreceived fifty-one (51) votesScatteringreceived one (1) voteWe therefore declare Levi Roach duly elected to the office of EBF DD6 (to fill a vacancy) for the
term of 2 years.

For the office of IHCC DD6:

Nellie M Coltrainreceived one thousand one hundred forty-two (1,142) votesScatteringreceived five (5) votesWe therefore declare NellieM Coltrain duly elected to the office of IHCC DD6 for the term of 4
years.

For the office of IHCC DD2:John Pothovenreceived four hundred twenty-six (426) votesScatteringreceived seven (7) votesWe therefore declare John Pothoven duly elected to the office of IHCC DD2 for the term of 4
years.

For the office of IHCC DD3:Amy Webberreceived on thousand seven hundred six (1,706) votesSusie Drish (WI)received one hundred ninety-nine (199) votesScatteringreceived thirteen (13) votesWe therefore declare Amy Webber duly elected to the office of IHCC DD3 for the term of 4
years.

For the office of IHCC DD7:	
Alan Wilson	received one thousand two hundred six (1,026) votes

Scattering received seventeen (17) votes We therefore declare Alan Wilson duly elected to the office of IHCC DD7 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of IHCC DD9:Katie Nicholsreceived one thousand two hundred eight-four (1,284) votesScatteringreceived eighteen (18) votesWe therefore declare Katie Nichols duly elected to the office of IHCC DD9 for the term of 4
years.

For Public Measure "B" for Cardinal Community School District: For the question, there were two hundred ninety-five (295) votes Against the question, there were one hundred thirty (130) votes We therefore declare Public Measure "B" to be adopted.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to accept the Canvass for November 5, 2019 City/School Election. Motion carried.

Chair Parker explained the suggested changes to 28E Agreement for Voting Procedures Governing Board Members as follows:

4.3 Each Governing Board Director shall have one vote. Q quorum must be present in order for the Governing Board to take action. A quorum shall be majority of the county-appointed Directors. The Governing Board shall take action by approval from the majority of the Directors present. Whereas the County Board of Supervisors are responsible for the county budgets, including mental health, the County Elected Officials (Board of Supervisors) will be the only Governing Board of Directors to vote on fiscal matters such as budgets, levy recommendations, and budget reductions. Voting shall be done by roll call vote. Proxy voting will not be allowed; however, a Governing Board Director may attend via electronic means and be considered present for purposes of quorum and voting. If a representative of a county fails to attend three consecutive meetings, that member county shall appoint one of its supervisors to serve as a Director on the Governing Board replacing the prior member. The Governing Board shall meet in minimum of quarterly each year. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit approve changes to 28E Agreement. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Recorder's TIFF Viewer Server Maintenance Renewal 2020. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Black Ice TIFF Viewer Renewal from 01/2020 – 01/2021 in the Auditor's Office. Motion carried.

11:17 a.m. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor to go into closed session to discuss personnel issue per Iowa Code 21.5.

12:25 p.m. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded Supervisor Huit to close meeting. Motion carried.

Claims in the amount of \$372,020.28 and payroll in the amount of \$345,790.47 were approved.

12:25 p.m. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to adjourn. Motion carried.

Kelly Spurgeon Wapello County Auditor Jerry L Parker, Chair Board of Supervisors