## WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 10-12-2017 TIME: 1:00 p.m.

PRESENT: Jerry Parker, Chair; Brian Morgan, Vice Chair; Greg Kenning, Supervisor; Danielle Weller, Deputy Auditor; Mark Newman, Ottumwa Courier; Jefferson Tyler,

KYOU.

Chair Parker opened the meeting. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve the minutes of the October 3, 2017 Board meeting. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approved Tax suspension under Iowa Code 427.8. Motion carried.

## ABSTRACT OF VOTES;

We, the undersigned Members of the Board of Supervisors, and ex-officio Board of County Canvassers, for Wapello County, hereby certify the following to be a true and correct abstract of the votes cast at the 2017 City Primary Election held on the 10<sup>th</sup> day of October, as shown by the tally lists returned from the election precincts.

For the office of Mayor–City of Ottumwa there were One thousand eighty-eight (1,088) votes cast as follows:

Robert L LaPoint received one hundred ninety-three (193) votes Tom X Lazio received seven hundred seventy-nine (779) votes

Russell Weeks received one hundred five (105) votes

Scattering received eleven (11) votes

We therefore declare Robert L LaPoint and Tom X Lazio duly nominated to go on to the Regular City Election on November 7, 2017.

For the office of Council Member–City of Ottumwa there were Two thousand nine hundred thirty-nine (2,939) votes cast as follow:

Holly Berg received seven hundred two (702) votes

Matt Dalbey received seven hundred sixty-three (763) votes

Joe Denton received two hundred sixty-six (266) votes
Adam Lunt received three hundred fifty-nine (359) votes
Ashley Noreuil received one hundred twenty-one (121) votes

Skip Stevens received six hundred eight (608) votes

Corwin Williams received seventy (70) votes
Scattering received fifty (50) votes

We therefore declare Holly Berg, Matt Dalbey, Joe Denton, Adam Lunt, Ashley Noreuil and Skip Stevens duly nominated to go on to the Regular City Election on November 7, 2017.

For the office of Mayor-City of Eddyville there were Four hundred twenty-seven (427) votes cast as follows:

Nick Batterson received ninety-eight (98) votes
Jim Durst received forty-nine (49) votes
Brent Michael Jackson received eighty-four (84) votes
Laura Johnston received forty-two (42) votes
Dot Maudlin received forty-two (42) votes
Travis Strunk received eighty-two (82) votes

Wendell Terrell received thirty (30) votes
Scattering received zero (0) votes

We therefore declare Nick Batterson, Jim Durst, Brent Michael Jackson, Laura Johnston, Dot Maudlin and Travis Strunk duly nominated to go on to the Regular City Election on November 7, 2017.

For the office Council Member-City of Eldon there were Three hundred thirty (330) votes cast as follows:

Brian Keasling received seventy (70) votes
Heidi L Kildow received fifty-nine (59) votes
Jane Sapp received sixty-eight (68) votes
David A Showman Jr received forty-four (44) votes
Tony Teninty received eighty-nine (89) votes

Scattering received zero (0) votes

We therefore declare Brian Keasling, Heidi L Kildow, Jane Sapp and Tony Teninty duly nominated to go on to the Regular City Election on November 7, 2017.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to certify the abstract of votes cast at the October 10, 2017 City Primary Election. Motion carried.

PUBLIC HEARING FOR BUDGET AMENDMENT – FISCAL YEAR ENDING JUNE 30, 2018. No written comments were received, no public comments were heard. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to close the public hearing. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to approve Resolution #47-2017 to appropriate amended funds for 2017-2018. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to approve Resolution #49-2017 to assign tax sale certificate to Shelly Richey and abate prior delinquent taxes. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to approve Resolution #50-2017 to abate certain property taxes in Wapello County for 10-15 Transit. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to accept and file Sheriff's 1<sup>st</sup> Quarter Report 7/1 to 9/30/2017. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to accept and file Recorder's 1<sup>st</sup> Quarter Report of fees collected 2017-2018. Motion carried.

Claims in the amount of \$786,069.24 and payroll in the amount of \$242,424.49 were approved.

1:13 p.m. Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:	
 Kelly Spurgeon	Jerry L Parker, Chair
Wapello County Auditor	Board of Supervisors