WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 9-15-2017 TIME: 1:30 p.m. PRESENT: Brian Morgan, Vice Chair; Greg Kenning, Supervisor; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor.

Vice Chair Morgan opened the meeting Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to approve the minutes of the September 12, 2017 Board meeting. Motion carried.

ABSTRACT OF VOTES:

We, the undersigned Members of the Board of Supervisors, and ex-officio Board of County Canvassers, for Wapello County, hereby certify the following to be a true and correct abstract of the votes cast in this county at the 2017 School Election held on the 12th day of September, as shown by the tally lists returned from the election precincts.

For the office of Ottumwa School District – Director at Large there were Four thousand four hundred three (4403) votes cast as follows:

Alex Barr	received	Eight hundred nineteen (819) votes
Jeffrey W Bittner	received	One thousand ninety-two (1092) votes
Bill Hoffman Jr	received	Three hundred twenty-eight (328) votes
Nancy Manson	received	Eight hundred eighty-eight (888) votes
Danny Simonson	received	Four hundred forty-nine (449) votes
Ann Youngman	received	Eight hundred (800) votes
Scattering	received	Twenty-seven (27) votes

We therefore declare Alex Barr, Jeffrey W Bittner and Nancy Manson duly elected for the Office of Ottumwa School Directors at Large for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Ottumwa School District – Director at Large (To fill vacancy) there were One thousand two hundred fifty-one (1251) votes cast as follows:

Michael O Carpenter	received	One thousand two hundred twenty eight
(1228) votes		
Scattering	received	Twenty-three (23) votes

We therefore declare Michael O Carpenter duly elected for the Office of School Director at Large for the term of 2 years.

For the office of Indian Hills Director District #4 there were Five Hundred sixteen (516) votes cast as follows:

Thomas Wayne Keck received Five hundred eight (508) votes

Scattering received Eight (8) votes

We therefore declare Thomas Wayne Keck duly elected for the Office of Indian Hills Director District #4 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Indian Hills Director District #5 there were Eight hundred thirty-six (836) votes cast as follows:

Richard J Gaumer received Eight hundred twenty-eight (828) votes

Scattering received Eight (8) votes

We therefore declare Richard J Gaumer duly elected for the Office of Indian Hills Director District #5 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Cardinal School District – Director at Large there were Eight hundred two (802) votes cast as follows:

Timothy J Albert received Two hundred fifty-seven (257) votes

Tim Honomichl received Seventy-two (72) votes

Andy Noe received Two hundred seventy-seven (277) votes

Jane Sapp received One hundred ninety-five (195) votes

Scattering received One (1) vote

We therefore declare Timothy J Albert and Andy Noe duly elected for the Office of Cardinal School District at Large for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #1 there were Forty (40) votes cast as follows:

Michael Mayberry received Thirty-nine (39) votes

Scattering received One (1) vote

We therefore declare Michael Mayberry duly elected to the Office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #1 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #2 there were Eightynine (89) votes cast as follows:

Dan Hulbert received Thirty-four (34) votes
Patrick Powers received Fifty-five (55) votes
Scattering received Zero (0) votes

We therefore declare Patrick Powers duly elected for the Office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #2 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #6 there were Sixty-one (61) votes cast as follows:

Don Darland received Thirty-seven (37) votes
Bruce Severson received Twenty-four (24) votes
Scattering received 70 votes

Scattering received Zero (0) votes

We therefore declare Don Darland duly elected for the Office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #6 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #7 there were Fortynine (49) votes cast as follows:

David Friedman received Forty-eight (48) votes

Scattering received One (1) vote

We therefore declare David Friedman duly elected for the Office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #7 for the term of 4 years.

Public Measure "A" there were Four hundred sixty-two votes cast as follows:

For the question, there were One hundred ninety-five (195) votes

Against the question, there were Two hundred sixty-seven (267) votes

We therefore declare Public Measure "A" to not be adopted.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to certify the abstract of votes. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to award bid for rental of the Wapello County Care Facility Cropland to Jason Rogers for the amount of \$86,528.00. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to move into Closed Session under Iowa Code Chapter 21.5 to discuss real estate. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to close "Closed Session" and reconvene. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to submit bid on property by 9-21-2017. Motion carried.

1:40 p.m. Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Morgan to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:	
Kelly Spurgeon Wapello County Auditor	R Brian Morgan, Vice Chair Board of Supervisors