WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 1-2-2015 TIME: 9:30 a.m.

PRESENT: Jerry L. Parker, Chair; Steve Siegel, Vice Chair; Greg Kenning, Supervisor (per phone); Wanda Moeller, Courier; Brad Peck; Mark Miller, Sheriff; Nicholas Martini, Emergency Management Administrator; Gary Smith, Assessor; Tom Lazio, Mayor; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Pam Norton, Auditor's Clerk.

Chair Parker opened the meeting of the new year. Chair Parker next nominated Steve Siegel as new chair for the calendar year 2015, Supervisor Kenning seconded. Motion carried.

Newly appointed Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to appoint Greg Kenning Vice Chair for calendar year 2015. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Chair Siegel to approve the minutes of the December 23, 2014 Board meeting. Motion carried.

The following county employees were recognized and awarded certificates for their years of service to the county: Paul Totten, 35 years; Terresa Sholes, Theresa Shipley and Shirley Courtney, 30 years; Judy Agee and Doug Caldwell, 25 years; Donald Phillips and Karen Baldridge, 20 years; Elizabeth Lewis, Deb Baker, Kurt Baker, Jason Maher, Tammy Gullett and Jerry Parker, 15 years; Michelle Hackley, Ron Ragan, Jr., Danielle Weller and LuAnne Edgington, 10 years; T.J. Millikin and Michael Conley, 5 years.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to appoint Sandy Billings to the accrual accounting committee to replace retiring Dianne Kiefer. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to reappoint Ron Harnden, Deb Littlejohn, Mike Moreland and Kelly Spurgeon to the American Disabilities Act Committee. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to reappoint Kurt Baker and Sam Rodgers to the American Gothic House Board for a one-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Chair Siegel to reappoint the following for calendar year 2015: Brian Moore, County Engineer; Terresa Sholes, General Relief Director; Greg Kenning, Judy Agee, Pam Frazier, Travis Bailey, Ron Harnden, Jayne Peck, Pam Norton and Betty Stromgren, Safety in the Workplace Committee; Travis

Bailey, Safety Officer for Secondary Roads; Brian Moore, Weed Commissioner; Lynelle Diers, Betty Stromgren, Karen Wilcoxson, Rob Pilcher and Jeff Layton, Wellness Fund Committee; Brian Moore, Well Testing and Abandonment Program, Zoning Administrator and Building Official. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Holly Berg to the Central Iowa Tourism Region for a one-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Marlys Breon-Drish and Jennifer Vitko to the Citizen's Advisory Board at Mt. Pleasant for a one-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint members of the Compensation Commission for a one-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Marsha Parker to the Conservation Board for a 5-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Dr. Steven Quackenbush as the County Medical Examiner for a two-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint The Ottumwa Courier as the official county newspaper for the 2015 calendar year. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Bruce Woodard to the County Planning and Zoning Board of Adjustment for a 5-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to appoint David Pickens to the County Planning and Zoning Commission for a 5-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Betty Stromgren as the HIPAA Privacy/Compliant Officer. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint members of the Historic Preservation of Courthouse and Jail Grant Committee with Roberta Roth-Neff to take retiring Dianne Kiefer's place. Motion carried. Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to remove the Iowa Emergency Management Division Committee from the appointment list. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Jerry Parker and Brian Moore to the union negotiating team for the Secondary Roads unit. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to appoint Jason Fuller to the union negotiating team for the Sheriff's unit. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to appoint Roberta Roth-Neff to the union negotiating team for the Courthouse unit to take the place of retiring Dianne Kiefer. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to approve the contract renewal with Cost Advisory Services, Inc.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to acknowledge and file the Treasurer's Investment Reports for October and November 2014. Motion carried.

The Board introduced Nicholas Martini, the county's new Emergency Management Director.

Mayor Tom Lazio was in attendance and stated he'd like to continue quarterly meetings with the Board to make things better for the county and the city.

10:36 a.m. Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:	
Kelly Spurgeon	Steve Siegel, Chair
Wapello County Auditor	Board of Supervisors