WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 1-3-2013 TIME: 4:00 p.m. PRESENT: Steve Siegel, Chair; Greg Kenning, Vice Chair; Jerry L. Parker, Supervisor; Ellen Foudree, Area XV; Brad Little and Madonna Fisher, Legacy Foundation; Richard Gaumer, Attorney; Mark Miller, Sheriff; Jordan Scupien, GIS; Lisa Holl, County Attorney; Mike Hekker, PCS; Don Phillips, Chris Shadduck, Betty Stromgren, Jeff Hornback, Tammy Headley, Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Pam Norton, Auditor's Clerk.

Chair Siegel opened this first meeting of the new year. Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve the minutes of the December 18, 2012 Board meeting. Motion carried.

Ellen Foudree, Director of Area XV Regional Planning Commission, addressed the Board regarding the regional housing trust fund. She said our six county region is eligible for up to \$276,683 per year but we have to match with 20% in local funds. Funds have to be pledged by September, and they're hoping for 15 cents per capita contribution from each of the 6 counties. She said she'll need a resolution showing our commitment of dollars. They will continue to seek private donations from other sources. This year 88 households were served.

The following county employees were recognized and awarded certificates for their years of service to the county: Sandra Billings and Ronald Harnden, 25 years; Robert Pelton, Robert Pilcher, Scott Pilcher, Dan Terrell and Kimberly Johns, 20 years; Kelly Spurgeon, Betty Stromgren, Steve Siegel, Tammy Headley, Dennis Leffler, Rickie Ebelsheiser, 15 years; Teresa Baker, Charlotte Kovacs, Timothy Cairns, Christopher Shadduck and Joy Wycoff, 10 years; Linda Daugherty, Laurie Fountain, Gregory Kenning, Lisa Holl, Christine Eakins, Jennifer Vitko, Jackie Luna and Brenda Rupe, 5 years. The Board thanked them for their years of service.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve a \$1600 proposal from PCS for our county website design consulting evaluation. Motion carried.

The next order of business was to appoint a new Chair for the 2013 calendar year.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Chair Siegel to appoint Greg Kenning as Chair for the 2013 calendar year. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by newly appointed Chair Kenning to appoint Supervisor Parker as Vice Chair for the 2013 calendar year. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by newly appointed Vice Chair Parker to reappoint the following for calendar year 2013. Motion carried. Reappointments were Brian Moore, Engineer; Terresa Sholes, General Relief Director; Greg Kenning, Judy Agee, Sally Clark, Travis Bailey, Larry Woollums, Melody Johns, Pam Norton and Betty Stromgren, Safety in the Workplace; Marty Cremer, Veterans Affairs Director; Brian Moore, Weed Commissioner; Lynelle Diers, Betty Stromgren, Emily Tuller, Rob Pilcher and Jeff Layton, Wellness Fund Committee; and Brian Moore, Well Test & Abandonment Program, Zoning Administrator and Building Official.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to reappoint members of the Compensation Commission for calendar year 2013. Motion carried. Members of the Commission are Dwight Lobberecht, Richard Damm, Lois Reed, Edith Rooker, Carol Logan, Ralph Price and Rich Gaumer.

Vice Chair Parker moved, seconded by Supervisor Siegel to reappoint Frank Carr to the Board of Health for a term of 3 years. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Parker moved, seconded by Supervisor Siegel to reappoint Kurt Baker and Marsha Parker to the American Gothic House Board for a one-year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Parker moved, seconded by Supervisor Siegel to continue the appointment changes following other business later in the meeting. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to approve a change of employment for Donald Lyle Phillips from full-time Deputy Sheriff to Chief Deputy effective 1/7/2013 at a new salary of \$53,390.85. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Parker moved, seconded by Supervisor Siegel to approve Resolution #889-2013 Avery Estates Subdivision. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to approve certified assurances for Victims of Crime Act (VOCA) and Violence Against Women Act (VAWA) grants through the Wapello County Attorney. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to accept and file the Clerk of Court's monthly report for November 2012. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to accept and file the Auditor's cash report for 2nd Quarter 2012-2013. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Parker moved, seconded by Supervisor Siegel to reappoint Mark Eckman and Holly Berg to the Central Iowa Tourism Region for one-year terms. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Parker moved, seconded by Supervisor Siegel to reappoint Marlys Breon-Drish and Jennifer Vitko to the Citizen's Advisory Board in Mt. Pleasant for one-year terms. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to reappoint Jeff Layton to the Conservation Board for a 5-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to reappoint the Ottumwa Courier as the official county newspaper for the 2013 calendar year. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Parker moved, seconded by Supervisor Siegel to reappoint Mel Moyer to the County Planning & Zoning Board of Adjustment for a 5-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to appoint Mel Moyer to the County Planning & Zoning Commission for a 5-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to reappoint Fred Hutton to the County Planning & Zoning Commission for a 5-year term. Motion carried.

County claims in the amount of \$320,789.18 and payroll in the amount of \$284,228.35 were approved. Handwritten check to United Contractors, claim #2677 in the amount of \$353,492.20 was approved.

4:53 p.m. Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Kelly Spurgeon Wapello County Auditor Gregory M. Kenning, Chair Board of Supervisors