WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 1-3-2012 TIME: 9:30 a.m.

PRESENT: Jerry L. Parker, Chair; Steve Siegel, Vice Chair; Greg Kenning, Supervisor; Annette Wittrick, Larry Sample, Richard Lewis, Josh Stevens, Jordan Scupien, Brian Moore, Gary Smith, Sue Barnes, Larry Woollums, Dixie Harnden, Dianne Kiefer, Roberta Roth-Neff, Sue Meyer, Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Pam Norton, Auditor's Clerk.

Chair Parker opened this first meeting of the new year. Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to approve the minutes of the December 27, 2011 Board meeting. Motion carried.

The following county employees were recognized and awarded certificates for their years of service to the county: Sue Barnes, 30 years; Dianne Kiefer and Roberta Roth-Neff, 25 years; Travis Bates, Lisa Craff, Dixie Harnden, Dorothy Lemonds, Richard Lewis, Brian Major, Brian Moore, Larry Sample and Larry Woollums, 10 years; Seth Harrington, Suzette Meyer, Jeremy Weller and Annette Wittrock, 5 years. The Board thanked them for their years of service.

The first order of business was to appoint a new Chair for the 2012 calendar year. Supervisor Kenning moved to appoint Steve Siegel as Chair for the 2012 calendar year, seconded by Siegel. Motion carried.

Chair Parker moved to appoint Supervisor Kenning as Vice Chair for the 2012 calendar year, seconded by Kenning. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint County Department Heads for calendar year 2012. Motion carried. Department Heads reappointed were Brian Moore, Engineer; Terresa Sholes, General Relief Director; Greg Kenning, Judy Agee, Sally Clark, Travis Bailey, Larry Woollums, Melody Johns, Pam Norton and Betty Stromgren, Safety in the Workplace; Daniel Hoy, Veterans Affairs Director; Brian Moore, Weed Commissioner; Lynelle Diers, Betty Stromgren, Emily Tuller, Rob Pilcher and Jeff Layton, Wellness Fund Committee; and Brian Moore, Well Test & Abandonment Program, Zoning Administrator and Building Official.

Supervisor Parker moved to acknowledge appointments to the Compensation Commission for calendar year 2012, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning. Motion carried. Members of the Commission are Dwight Lobberecht, Richard Damm, Lois Reed, Edith Rooker, Jean Dell, Ralph Price and Rich Gaumer.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Kurt Baker and Marsha Parker to the American Gothic House Board for a one-year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to reappoint Todd Williams to the Board of Health for a 3-year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to reappoint the Ottumwa Courier as the official county newspaper for 2012 calendar year. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to appoint Holly Berg and reappoint Cindy Woodbury to the Central Iowa Tourism Region for a year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Marlys Breon-Drish and Jennifer Vitko to the Citizen's Advisory Board at Mt. Pleasant for a one-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to reappoint Steven R. Quackenbush, MD as County Medical Examiner for a two-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to approve an agreement with Van Hulzen Appraisal Services for an appraisal of the Wapello Building. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve a tax suspension under Iowa Code 42.9. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to approve the county paying 1/3 of the cost of the pictometry proposal for Wapello County and the city of Ottumwa. Motion carried.

Budget review meetings for 2012-2013 were held today for General Assistance, Mental Health Advocate and CPC.

10:30 a.m. Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:		
Kelly Spurgeon	Steve Siegel, Chair	
Wapello County Auditor	Board of Supervisors	