WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 9-27-2011 TIME: 9:30 a.m.

PRESENT: Jerry L. Parker, Chair; Steve Siegel, Vice Chair; Greg Kenning, Supervisor; Jennifer Vitko, CPC; Amanda Larkin, SIMHC; Himar Hernandez; Willene White, NOEL Insurance; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Pam Norton, Auditor's Clerk.

Chair Parker called the meeting to order. Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve the minutes of the September 16, 2011 Board meeting. Motion carried.

ABSTRACT OF VOTES

We, the undersigned members of the Board of Supervisors and ex-officio County Board of Canvassers for this County, do hereby certify the following to be a true and correct abstract of the votes cast in this County at the 2011 Wapello County School Election held on the 13th day of September, 2011, as shown by the tally lists returned from the election precincts.

For the office of Indian Hills Director #2 there were six hundred twenty votes cast as follows:

John Pothoven received Six hundred sixteen (616) votes

Scattering received Four (4) votes

We therefore declare John Pothoven duly elected for the office of Indian Hills Director #2 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Indian Hills Director #3 there were seven hundred eighty-five (785) votes cast as follows:

Judith A. Cox received Five hundred seventeen (517) votes Jon C. Simplot received Two hundred sixty-seven (267) votes

Scattering received One (1) vote

We therefore declare Judith A. Cox duly elected for the office of Indian Hills Director #3 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Indian Hills Director #6 there were six hundred ninety-seven (697) votes cast as follows:

Kevin M. Kness received Six hundred ninety-one (691) votes

Scattering received Six (6) votes

We therefore declare Kevin M. Kness duly elected for the office of Indian Hills Director #6 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Indian Hills Director #7 there were one hundred eighty-six (186) votes cast as follows:

Sharon Kline received One hundred eighty-three (183) votes

Scattering received Three (3) votes

We therefore declare Sharon Kline duly elected for the office of Indian Hills Director #7 for the term of 4 years.

For the office of Indian Hills Director #9 there were eight hundred seven (807) votes cast as follows:

George E. Manning received Seven hundred eighty-nine (789) votes

Scattering received Eighteen (18) votes

We therefore declare George E. Manning duly elected for the office of Indian Hills Director #9 for the term of 4 years.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to certify the abstract. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to approve a tax suspension under Iowa Code 427.8. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to contribute \$1,000 to the city of Eldon for work on the boat dock, contingent upon them receiving the 75/25 grant. Motion carried.

Himar Hernandez spoke to the Board regarding a new program in the county, a micro loan program, trying to help new entrepreneurs in the county. They are operating under the micro loan foundation and their fiscal agent is the County Extension office. They will have a local review board and an attorney will assist with legal advice. There are no deadlines for applications as yet. He said whoever applies will receive \$500 to attend classes, etc. He asked for referrals if anyone knows of interested entrepreneurs.

Jennifer Vitko, CPC and Amanda Larkin, SIMHC presented the Board a newly revised contract for Southern Iowa Mental Health. In June they had signed a 3-month contract. The Board thanked them both for doing a good job of cleaning up the contract. Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve the contract renewal. Motion carried.

Discussion followed regarding the 28E Southeastern Stakeholder Meeting to be held on October 3, 2011 at IHCC Rural Health Building in Room 111 at 11:30 a.m. and 5:30 p.m.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve amending Resolution #808-2011 to add Spring Street and Front Street. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve Resolution #809-2011 approving an inter-fund loan from the LEC maintenance fund to the Bridge and Culvert Capital Improvement Fund. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve a tax compromise on tax sale certificate 2009-00922, 1525 Mable Street. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to approve a change of employment for Russ Rigdon in the County Attorney's office, change date 10/1/11 at a new salary of \$56,000. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve a tax suspension under Iowa Code 427.8. Motion carried.

Willene White, NOEL Insurance, spoke to the Board regarding a seminar ICAP is going to have November 9th from 9:00 to 4:00 regarding liability and fraud.

County claims in the amount of \$781,123.92 and payroll in the amount of \$299,055.81 were approved.

10:17 a.m. Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:	
Kelly Spurgeon	Jerry L. Parker, Chair
Wapello County Auditor	Board of Supervisors