Planning/Zoning & Building Division

secondary-roads-wcThe Wapello County Planning and Zoning Department is responsible for approving plans, issuing permits, performing inspections, planning, and making zoning recommendations for the unincorporated areas of Wapello County.

The unincorporated area of Wapello County is divided into 7 land use areas:

  • A-1 Agricultural
  • A-2 Agricultural/ Rural Residential
  • R-1 Residential
  • C-1 Commercial
  • C-2 Highway Service Commercial
  • I-1 Light Industrial
  • I-2 Heavy Industrial (Airport OverLay)


In 2003 Wapello County passed and adopted a Construction Code for all unincorporated areas in the county. The Building and Inspections department issues permits and inspects new construction and additions for residential, commercial and industrial buildings within the County. A building permit must be obtained from our office. If you have any questions feel free to contact our office or view our FAQ.