WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS 3rd Floor Courtroom at Courthouse

DATE: 11-21-2023

TIME: 9:30 a.m.

PRESENT: Brian Morgan, Chair; Bryan Ziegler, Vice Chair; Darren Batterson, Supervisor; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Chad Drury, Ottumwa Courier; Danielle Weller, Deputy Auditor; Willene White, NOEL Insurance.

Chair Morgan opened the meeting. Supervisor Batterson moved, seconded by Vice Chair Ziegler to approve the agenda. All ayes. Motion carried.

Supervisor Batterson moved, seconded by Vice Chair Ziegler to approve minutes of November 14, 2023 Board Meeting. All ayes. Motion carried.

CANVASS OF NOVEMBER 7, 2023 CITY/SCHOOL 2nd TIER.

Mayor-Eddyville		
Phyllis Sutton	received Forty-five (45) votes	
Doug Greenlee	received One Hundred Fifty-five (155) votes	
CANDIDATE TOTAL	Two Hundred (200) votes	
SCATTERING	received Five (5) votes	
TOTAL	Two Hundred Five (205) votes	
We therefore declare Doug Greenlee duly elected to the office of Mayor for the terms of 2 years.		

Council Member-Eddyville

James Sutton	received One Hundred Ten (110) votes	
Anthony Lettington (Write-In Candidate)	received Sixty-seven (67) votes	
Kellie Vroegh (Write-In Candidate)	received Thirty-nine (39) votes	
CANDIDATE TOTAL	Two Hundred Sixteen (216) votes	
SCATTERING	received Forty-nine (49) votes	
TOTAL	Two Hundred Sixty-five (265) votes	
We therefore declare James Sutton and Anthony Lettington duly elected to the office of Council Member for		

School Board Member-Cardinal

Debb Kent	received Three Hundred Thirty-six (336) votes
Devlin Rupe	received Two Hundred Fifty-seven (257) votes
Trevor Brown	received Two Hundred Seventy-three (273) votes
Andy Brainard	received One Hundred Ninety-four (194) votes
Ryan Johnson	received Two Hundred Eighty-three (283) votes
CANDIDATE TOTAL	One Thousand Three Hundred Forty-three (1343) votes
SCATTERING	received Thirteen (13) votes
TOTAL	One Thousand Three Hundred Fifty-six (1356) votes

We therefore declare Debb Kent, Ryan Johnson and Trevor Brown duly elected to the office of School Board Member for the term of 4 years.

Bruce Vroegh Tyrone Lobberecht **CANDIDATE TOTAL** SCATTERING TOTAL

the term of 4 years.

School Board Member-EBF DD#4

received Twenty-seven (27) votes received Thirty-six (36) votes **Sixty-three (63) votes** received Zero (0) votes Sixty-three (63) votes We therefore declare Tyrone Lobberecht duly elected to the office of School Board DD#4 for the term of 4 years.

Board Member-IHCC DD#2

Riley Sheetzreceived One Thousand Thirty-four (1034) votesCANDIDATE TOTALOne Thousand Thirty-four (1034) votes

received Seven (7) votes

SCATTERING

TOTAL

One Thousand Forty-one (1041) votes

We therefore declare Riley Sheetz duly elected to the office of Board Member DD#2 for the term of 4 years.

Board Member-IHCC DD#3

Christine Estlereceived Two Thousand One Hundred Eighty-three (2183) votesCANDIDATE TOTALTwo Thousand One Hundred Eighty-three (2183) votesSCATTERINGreceived Twenty-eight (28) votesTOTALTwo Thousand Two Hundred Eleven (2211) votesWe therefore declareChristine Estle duly elected to the office of Board Member DD#3 for the term of4 years.

Board Member-IHCC DD#6		
Kevin Crall	received One Thousand Five Hundred Sixty-eight (1568) votes	
CANDIDATE TOTAL	One Thousand Five Hundred Sixty-eight (1568) votes	
SCATTERING	received Twenty-three (23) votes	
TOTAL	One Thousand Five Hundred Ninety-one (1591) votes	
We therefore declare Kevin Crall duly elected to the office of Board Member DD#6 for the term of 4		
years.		

Board Member-IHCC DD#7

Alan Wilson	received One Thousand Two Hundred Ninety-seven (1297) votes
CANDIDATE TOTAL	One Thousand Two Hundred Ninety-seven (1297) votes
SCATTERING	received Forty-one (41) votes
TOTAL	One Thousand Three Hundred Thirty-eight (1338) votes
We therefore declare Alan Wilson duly elected to the office of board member for the term of 4 years.	

Board Member-IHCC DD#9		
Katie Nichols	received One Thousand Eight (1008) votes	
CANDIDATE TOTAL	One Thousand Eight (1008) votes	
SCATTERING	received Six (6) votes	
TOTAL	One Thousand Fourteen (1014) votes	
We therefore declare Katie Nichols duly elected to the office of Board Member DD#9 for the term		
of 4 years.		

Public Measure "UV"

Summary: To adopt a Revenue Purpose Statement to authorize the expenditure of revenue from		
the State of Iowa Secure an Advanced Vision for Education Fund received by the Eddyville-		
Blakesburg-Fremont Community School District.		
For the question, there were:	Three Hundred Ninety-eight (398) votes	
Against the question, there were:	Ninety (90) votes	
Total	Four Hundred Eighty-eight (488) votes	
We therefore declare Public Measure "UV" to be adopted.		

Supervisor Batterson moved, seconded by Vice Chair Ziegler to accept & file the results as read. All ayes. Motion carried.

9:48 a.m. Supervisor Batterson moved, seconded by Vice Chair Ziegler to adjourn. All ayes. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Kelly Spurgeon Wapello County Auditor R. Brian Morgan, Chair Board of Supervisors