WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 1-2-2019 TIME: 9:30 a.m.

PRESENT: Jerry Parker, Chair; Brian Morgan, Vice Chair; Wayne Huit, Supervisor; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Jacob McCoy, GIS; Jeff Layton, WCSO; Don Phillips, WCSO; Laurie Fountain, Treasurer; Pat Brink, KYOU-TV.

Chair Morgan opened the meeting. Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to nominate Jerry Parker as new chair for the calendar year 2019. Motion carried.

Supervisor Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to nominate Brian Morgan as Vice Chair. Motion carried.

Chair Parker moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve the minutes of December 18, 2018 Board Meeting. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to appoint Annette Wittrock & Jeff Layton to American Gothic House Board for one year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint the following for calendar year 2019; Wendell Folkerts - Engineer, Weed Commissioner, Well Test & Abandonment Program, Zoning Administrator; Jennifer Vitko – General Relief Director; Paul Culver, IT; Jake McCoy, GIS. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Jake McCoy, Lynelle Diers, Travis Bailey, Andrew Birch, Valerio Jasso, Wayne Huit and Heather Wilson to Safety of the Workplace; Lynelle Diers, Jake McCoy, Karen Wilcoxson, Rob Pilcher and Jeff Layton to the Wellness Fund Committee for calendar year 2019. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Kim Brown and Lloyd Keith to the Board of Health for a three year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Gordon Aistrope, Jody Gates, Larry Kinsinger, Ed McDowell, Sister Mary Munoz, Mary Reiter and Wayne Huit to Building Code Committee for a five year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Ken Steffen – Architect to Building Code Appeals Board for a five year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to appoint Kelsy Westman to Central Iowa Tourism Region for a one year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Jose Pulido, Edith Rooker, John Webber and Dianne Kiefer to the Compensation Board. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint all members to the Compensation Commission for a one year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Sam Rodgers to the Conservation Board for a five year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Steven R Quackenbush MD-Pathologist and Mark Hagist-Medical Examiner for a 2 year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Fred L Hutton & Jean Dell to the County Planning & Zoning Commission for a 5 year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Wayne Huit, Reuben Neff, Tom McAndrew, Jenni Nelson, Judge Lucy Gamon, Doug Reese, Judge Kirk Daily, Tim Richmond and Andrew Birch to 8th Judicial District's Courthouse Security Commission. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Jerry Parker, Kelly Spurgeon & Carosh Compliance Solutions to HIPAA Privacy/Compliance Committee. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Kelly Spurgeon & Wayne Huit to ICAP Liability Contact Person (Proxy). Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Cindy Hewitt to the Southeast Iowa Emergency Medical Services Council. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to appoint Annett Wittrock & Wendell Folkerts to the T.A.C Sub-Committee for Regional Planning Administration. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to reappoint Jerry L Parker & Wendell Folkerts to the Union Negotiating Team for Secondary Roads Unit, Jerry Parker, Don Phillips, Chris Swope for Sheriff's Unit and Jerry Parker, Kelly Spurgeon, Lisa Kent, Laurie Fountain and Reuben Neff for Courthouse Unit. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve all Committees & Boards on which the Supervisors serve on for a one year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to appoint The Ottumwa Courier as the official newspaper for calendar year 2019. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to acknowledge and file a letter of resignation from Don Darland – Veterans Affairs Board. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve addendum to Sheriff's Department Union Contract. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve contract with Solutions License client software for GIS Department. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve AED-CPR First Aid Training & Equipment Funding from safety committee. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Resolution 1-2019 abating certain property taxes at 2010 Bertha, rescinding Resolution 56-2018. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Resolution 2-2019 abating certain property taxes at 414 N Wapello St, rescinding Resolution 57-2018. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Resolution 3-2019 abating certain property taxes at 108 E Court St, rescinding Resolution 58-2018. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Resolution 4-2019 abating certain property taxes at 519 Clarence St. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve Resolution 5-2019 abating property taxes for Wapello County 4-H Exposition Inc. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to approve request to hire Tanvi Yenna as Victim Witness Coordinator in the County Attorney's Office effective 1-7-19 at \$45,000.00 per year. Motion carried.

Claims for 12-21-18 in the amount of \$481,293.83 and payroll in the amount of \$318,173.07 were approved.

9:56 a.m. Vice Chair Morgan moved, seconded by Supervisor Huit to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:	
Kelly Spurgeon	Jerry L Parker, Chair
Wapello County Auditor	Board of Supervisors