## WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 9-11-2015

TIME: 1:30 p.m.

PRESENT: Steve Siegel, Chair; Greg Kenning, Vice Chair; Jerry Parker, Supervisor; Wanda Moeller, Courier; Danielle Weller, Elections Deputy; Gary Oldenberger, County Attorney; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Pam Norton, Auditor's Clerk.

Chair Siegel opened the meeting. Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to approve the minutes of the September 1, 2015 Board meeting. Motion carried.

CANVASS OF THE SCHOOL ELECTION held September 8, 2015. Danielle Weller, Elections Deputy, read the election results. The votes for the Ottumwa School District for Director at Large were as follows:

Mike Dalbey received seven hundred fifty-one (751) votes Gary Granneman received nine hundred fifty-two (952) votes Jim Keck received five hundred ten (510) votes Edward Matthews received four hundred forty-six (446) votes Deb McClellan received one hundred seventy-three (173) votes Marty Schmidt received four hundred eleven (411) votes James G. Thomas received three hundred fifty-six (356) votes Leisa Walker received one thousand thirty-eight (1,038) votes Juanita Zavala received five hundred thirty-nine (539) votes

The Board declared Mike Dalbey, Gary Granneman, Leisa Walker and Juanita Zavala duly elected to the office of Ottumwa School Directors at Large for the term of 4 years.

The votes for the Ottumwa School District for Director at Large to fill vacancy were as follows:

Greg Riley received nine hundred eighty-four (984) votes

Scattering received seventeen (17) votes

The Board declared Greg Riley duly elected to the office of Ottumwa School Director at Large for a term of 2 years.

The votes for the Cardinal School District for Director at Large were as follows:

Alan Campbell received ninety-nine (99) votes

Roger Davis received ninety-three (93) votes

Carol Streeby received eighty-four (84) votes

The Board declared Alan Campbell, Roger Davis and Carol Streeby duly elected to the office of Cardinal School Directors at Large for the term of 4 years.

The votes for the Cardinal School District for Director at Large to fill vacancy were as follows:

William Steele received eighty-six (86) votes

Scattering received six (6) votes

The Board declared William Steele duly elected to the office of Cardinal School Director at Large for the term of 2 years.

The votes for the Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #3 were as follows:

Larry Harry McNeese received thirty-four (34) votes

Rena Shepherd received sixty-two (62) votes

James Sutton received nineteen (19) votes

The Board declared Rena Shepherd duly elected to the office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #3 for the term of 4 years.

The votes for the Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #4 were as follows:

Debra Bahr received thirty-eight (38) votes

Mark J. Haselhuhn received forty-three (43) votes

Matt Waldren received thirty-four (34) votes

The Board declared Mark J. Haselhuhn duly elected to the office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #4 for the term of 4 years.

The votes for the Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #5 were as follows:

Doug Brinegar received fifty-six (56) votes

Kevin P. Lane received fifteen (15) votes

The Board declared Doug Brinegar duly elected to the office of Eddyville-Blakesburg-Fremont Director District #5 for the term of 4 years.

The votes for the Indian Hills Director District #6 were as follows:

Nellie M. Coltrain received two hundred eighty-five (285) votes

Scattering received five (5) votes

The Board declared Nellie M. Coltrain duly elected to the office of Indian Hills Director District #6 for the term of 4 years.

The votes for the Indian Hills Director District #9 were as follows:

George E. Manning received three (3) votes

Scattering received zero (0) votes

The Board declared George E. Manning duly elected to the office of Indian Hills Director District #9 for the term of 4 years.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to certify the abstract. Motion carried.

Gary Oldenberger, County Attorney, addressed the Board regarding the VAWA and VOCA grant money with a percentage of match from the County. This needs to be renewed every 3 years and is due September 25<sup>th</sup> this year. Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to authorize the Chair to approve and sign the grant when it's available. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve a liquor license for Elliott Oil Company, Highway 63 South BP. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve the amendment to the South Central Behavioral Health Region 28E Agreement. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to set the date of September 29, 2015 at 5:30 p.m. for a public hearing on the recommendation from the Wapello County Zoning Commission concerning the Gordy property. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to set the date of September 29, 2015 at 5:35 p.m. as the time and date for a public hearing on the recommendation from the Wapello County Zoning Commission concerning the Allied Gas & Chemical Company property. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to accept the quote from Murphy Tractor of \$156,116 minus \$96,000 (trade in 2 John Deere 770CH motor graders) for a total price of \$60,116 delivered for a 2015 John Deere 544K loader. Motion carried.

2:01 p.m. Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Kelly Spurgeon Wapello County Auditor Steve Siegel, Chair Board of Supervisors