WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 1-7-2014 TIME: 9:30 a.m.

PRESENT: Greg Kenning, Chair; Jerry L. Parker, Vice Chair; Steve Siegel, Supervisor; Brian Moore, Engineer; Josh Stevens, Emergency Management; Mark Miller, Sheriff; Jeff Layton, Sheriff's Department; Gary Smith, Assessor; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Pam Norton, Auditor's Clerk.

Chair Kenning opened the meeting. Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Vice Chair Parker to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Parker moved, seconded by Supervisor Siegel to approve the minutes of the December 31, 2013 Board meeting. Chair Kenning abstained. Motion carried.

The following county employees were recognized and awarded certificates for their years of service to the county: Jeff Layton and Mark Miller, 25 years; Lynelle Diers, Betty Edgington and Mary J. Flattery, 20 years; Pam Norton, Travis Bailey, Todd Glosser, Chris Kitterman, Kelly Shaw and Sherry Sylvester, 15 years; Mary M. Butler, Marquetta Huffman, Debra Salter, Jayne Peck and Lisa Kent, 10 years; Janice Crowder, Todd Evans, Tyler Herrick, Donald McMartin, Melia Moore and Lynette Wright, 5 years.

The next order of business was to appoint a new Chair for the 2014 calendar year. Supervisor Siegel moved, seconded by Chair Kenning to appoint Vice Chair Parker as Chair for the 2014 calendar year. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by newly appointed Chair Parker to appoint Supervisor Siegel as Vice Chair for the 2014 calendar year. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by newly appointed Vice Chair Siegel to reappoint the following for calendar year 2014: Brian Moore, Engineer; Terresa Sholes, General Relief Director; Greg Kenning, Judy Agee, Pam Frazier, Travis Bailey, Jayne Peck, Pam Norton and Betty Stromgren, Safety in the Workplace; Brian Moore, Weed Commissioner; Lynelle Diers, Betty Stromgren, Karen Wilcoxson, Rob Pilcher and Jeff Layton, Wellness Fund committee; Brian Moore, Well Test & Abandonment Program, Zoning Administrator and Building Official. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to appoint Ron Harnden to the American Disabilities Act Committee. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to appoint Sam Rodgers to

the American Gothic House Board for a one-year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to reappoint Dr. Ronda Dennis-Smithart and Shirley Stacey to the Board of Health for 3-year terms. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to reappoint Gordon Aistrope, Jody Gates, Larry Kinsinger, Ed McDowell, Sister Mary Munoz, Mary Reiter and Vice Chair Siegel to the Building Code Committee for 5-year terms. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to reappoint Ken Steffen and Bruce Woodard to the Building Code Appeals Board for 5-year terms. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to reappoint Mark Eckman and Holly Berg to the Central Iowa Tourism Region for a one-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to reappoint Marlys Breon-Drish and Jennifer Vitko to the Citizen's Advisory Board at Mt. Pleasant for one-year terms. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to reappoint Dwight Lobberecht and Richard Damm to the Compensation Board for 4-year terms. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to reappoint members of the Compensation Commission for calendar year 2014. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to reappoint Sam Rodgers to the Conservation Board for a term of 5 years. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to reappoint the Ottumwa Courier as the official county newspaper for the 2014 calendar year. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to reappoint Rick Callen to the County Planning & Zoning Board of Adjustment for a 5-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to reappoint Mel Moyer to the County Planning & Zoning Commission for a 5-year term. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to appoint Ron Harnden to the Historic Preservation of Courthouse & Jail Grant Committee. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to reappoint Ward Ransford to the Veteran Affairs Commission for a 3-year term. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to approve a tax suspension under Iowa Code 427.8. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to accept and file the Auditor's Cash Report for 2nd Quarter fiscal year 2013-2014. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to accept and file the Treasurer's Investment Reports for October and November 2013. Motion carried.

County claims in the amount of \$188,156.85 and payroll in the amount of \$410,130.55 were approved. Handwritten check to First Administrators, claim #6684 in the amount of \$18,011.49 was approved.

Budget review meetings for 2014-2015 were scheduled January 6th for General Assistance, Recorder, Veteran Affairs, Auditor, and GIS Departments. County Attorney, IT and Mental Health Advocate Departments were scheduled January 7th. Gothic House, County Conservation, CPC and Secondary Roads Departments are scheduled January 10th. Treasurer and Motor Vehicle, Public Health Nurses and Sheriff Departments are scheduled January 13th.

10:19 a.m. Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:	
Kelly Spurgeon	Jerry L. Parker, Chair
Wapello County Auditor	Board of Supervisors