WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 2-21-2012 TIME: 9:30 a.m. PRESENT: Steve Siegel, Chair; Greg Kenning, Vice Chair; Jerry L. Parker, Supervisor; Jennifer Vitko, CPC; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Charles Harris; Danielle Weller, Elections Deputy; Rodney Curtis.

Chair Siegel called the meeting to order. Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve the minutes of the February 14, 2012 Board meeting. Motion carried.

Canvass of the Special Election held February 14, 2012. Danielle Weller, Elections Deputy, read the results of the Canvass.

ABSTRACT OF VOTES

We, the undersigned members of the Board of Supervisors, and ex-officio Board of County Canvassers, for Wapello County, hereby certify the following to be a true and correct abstract of the votes cast in this County at the 2012 Special City Election in Blakesburg held on the 14th day of February, 2012, as shown by the tally lists returned from the election precincts.

Council Member (To fill a vacancy)

Larry J. Benge	received Thirty-eight (38) votes
Alan Bettis	received Eighty-one (81) votes
Gina L. Fisher	received Twenty-seven (27) votes
Gordon Riley	received Six (6) votes
<u>Write In Candidate</u>	
Bill Hinshaw	received Sixty-nine (69) votes
Scattering	received One (1) vote
TOTAL	Two Hundred Twenty-two (222) votes

We therefore declare Alan Bettis and Bill Hinshaw duly elected for the office of Council Member for the term of 4 years.

Council Member (To fill a vacancy)

Gary Chidester	received Twenty-six (26) votes
Brenda Lee Hopkins	received Thirty-eight (38) votes
Vickie S. Willey	received Fifty-two (52) votes
Scattering	received Zero (0) votes
TOTAL	One Hundred Sixteen (116) votes

We therefore declare Vickie S. Willey duly elected for the office of Council Member for the term of 2 years.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to accept the Canvass as presented. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to approve Resolution #829-2012 to extend 28E Consortium to June 30, 2013. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to approve Resolution #830-2012 to provide for the financial support of the Area 15 Regional Planning Commission. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to approve Resolution #827-2012 Military Disallowances for 2011. Motion carried.

Supervisor Parker moved, seconded by Vice Chair Kenning to approve Resolution #828-2012 Homestead Disallowances for 2011. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to accept and file the Treasurer's Investment Report for January 2012. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Kenning moved, seconded by Supervisor Parker to accept and file the Clerk of Court's monthly report for January 2012. Motion carried.

Charles Harris addressed the board on some road issues on 87th St and Ridge Rd/Hwy 34. Board to discuss problem with Dan Terrell at Secondary Roads.

9:45 a.m. Chair Siegel opened up closed session per Iowa Code Chapter 21.5 (j).

10:21 a.m. Vice Chair Kenning moved, Supervisor Parker seconded to close meeting. Motion carried.

10:21 a.m. Vice Chair Kenning moved, Supervisor Parker seconded to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Kelly Spurgeon Wapello County Auditor Steve Siegel, Chair Board of Supervisors