## WAPELLO COUNTY BOARD PROCEEDINGS

DATE: 11-15-2011 TIME: 9:30 a.m. PRESENT: Jerry L. Parker, Chair; Steve Siegel, Vice Chair; Greg Kenning, Supervisor; Danielle Weller, Elections Deputy; Dianne Kiefer, Treasurer; Kelly Spurgeon, Auditor; Pam Norton, Auditor's Clerk.

Chair Parker called the meeting to order. Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to approve the agenda. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve the minutes of the October 28, 2011 Board meeting. Motion carried.

CANVASS OF THE REGULAR CITY ELECTION held November 8, 2011. Deputy Weller explained there was a tie in Agency for write-in Council Member as well as Chillicothe Council Member. She asked Chair Parker to draw names to decide the tie vote. Dan Thrasher's name was drawn for Agency write-in Council Member and Sharon L. Lasley was drawn for Chillicothe Council Member.

Deputy Weller read the abstract of votes as shown by the tally lists returned from the election precincts. The results were as follows:

- **Agency:** Robert Briner duly elected for the office of Mayor for term of 2 years. Ernie Fite and Dan Thrasher duly elected for the office of Council Member for term of 4 years.
- **Blakesburg:** Jason Myers duly elected for the office of Mayor for term of 2 years. Harold Allison, Sr., Phillip B. Cormeny and Bill Mitchell duly elected for the office of Council Member for term of 4 years.
- **Chillicothe:** Paul A. Faler duly elected for office of Mayor for term of 2 years. David Dalbey, Sharon L. Lasley, Troy L. Ragen, Tim Richmond and Tom Veldhuizen duly elected for office of Council Member for term of 2 years.
- **Eddyville:** John E. Johnston duly elected for office of Mayor for term of 2 years. Jim Durst and Dwight Lobberecht duly elected for office of Council Member for term of 4 years.
- **Eldon:** Shirley A. Stacey duly elected for office of Mayor for term of 2 years. Tom Bedford, N. Kaye Cranston, Linda Durflinger, Jerry L. Potts and Reed Vass duly elected to office of Council Member for term of 2 years.
- **Kirkville:** Terry D. Robinson duly elected for office of Mayor for term of 2 years. Jesse A. Fridley, Jr., Timothy W. Gott, Danny J. McDonough, Bill Ragen and Ami Scully duly elected for office of Council Member for term of 2 years.

**Ottumwa:** Frank Flanders duly elected for office of Mayor for term of 2 years. Mitch Niner and John JR Richards duly elected for office of Council Member for term of 4 years.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to accept the Canvass as presented. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve a \$720.00 match that the Ottumwa Area Convention & Visitors Bureau were asking for grant funds to expand their website. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to set November 22, 2011 for a budget amendment public hearing. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve the County's Holiday calendar for 2012. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve Resolution #816-2011 transfer of funds. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to approve a letter of support to the Economic Development Administration to construct a business incubator at the IHCC north campus. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve Resolution #817-2011 abatement of taxes, amending Resolution #810-2011. Motion carried. Dianne Kiefer, County Treasurer, asked that her office prepare resolutions for any abatement of taxes in the future.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to approve Resolution #819-2011 to abate taxes on a mobile home assessed in the name of Teeter (duplicate assessment) and direct the County Auditor to remove the 2011 value so that no tax bill is generated next year. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to approve a two-year lease agreement between M& L Enterprises and Wapello County. Motion carried.

Supervisor Kenning moved, seconded by Vice Chair Siegel to accept and file the Treasurer's Investment Report for September 2011. Motion carried.

Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to accept and file the Clerk of Court's monthly report for October 2011. Motion carried.

County claims in the amount of \$1,216,050.78 and payroll in the amount of \$392,569.44 were approved.

10:16 a.m. Vice Chair Siegel moved, seconded by Supervisor Kenning to adjourn. Motion carried.

ATTEST:

Kelly Spurgeon Wapello County Auditor Jerry L. Parker, Chair Board of Supervisors